Tero Saarinen Company:: MORPHED © Mikki Kunttu / Auditorium Films


21-24 November 2019
Rex Filmtheater Wuppertal, Germany

Initiated and organised by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre, dancescreen is one of the world's most important international dance film competitions. The dancescreen competition honours excellence in dance film productions, promotes emerging talents and connects the international dance film industry. The dancescreen competition takes place in partnership with local dance film festivals. As the official partner of dancescreen in 2019, TANZRAUSCHEN organises a varied festival programme from 21-24 November 2019 at Rex Filmtheater in the dance and film city of Wuppertal.

A special feature of this year's dancescreen competition is the Social Movers Award, a new prize category presented for the first time, which sees itself as a recognition of a cinematic exploration of socio-critical topics in dance film.


Together with the respective festival partner, experts from the IMZ screen + assess all submitted dance films in order to establish a preselection for the film screenings + dancescreen competition. The jury evaluates all preselected + screened films on Originality, Choreography/Dramaturgy, Technical Execution, Production Design, and Meaning + Message. Drawing from its extensive experience and international network, the IMZ is happy that specialists in filmmaking, distribution, broadcasting + media as well as acclaimed choreographers and dancers have accepted the invitation to join dancescreen as member of the jury or expert for the pitching sessions. The following industry representatives – among countless others - have been part of dancescreen:

  • Cis Bierinckx, Beursschouwburg
  • Ellen Bromberg, choreographer, filmmaker, media designer, curator and educator
  • Kevin Dolan, Film London
  • Arild Erikstad, NRK – Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation
  • Pegah Farahmand, Channel 4
  • Judy Flannery, San Francisco Dance Film Festival
  • Ditte Feuk, SVT - Swedish Television
  • Chris Hunt, Stanza Media Ltd
  • Lynette Kessler, Dance Camera West Dance Media Festival
  • Muriel Maffre, Museum of Performance + Design in San Francisco
  • Wayne McGregor, Random Dance
  • Jen McLachlan, balletLORONT
  • Isabelle Mestre, ARTE France
  • Henk van der Meulen, Royal Conservatoire of The Hague
  • Denis Molière, Telmondis Distribution
  • Reiner Moritz, Poorhouse International
  • Michael Nunn + William Trevitt, BalletBoyz®
  • Dieter Schneider, ZDF – Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen
  • Alistair Spalding, Sadlers’s Wells
  • Luuk van Eijk, Julidans
  • Hazel Wright, Hazel Wright Media Ltd./Opera Uncorked Ltd.
  • Jan Younghusband, BBC Music



Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.